Delhi’s luxurious dining rooms

Bukhara at the ITC

From street food to fine dining, I’m aiming to eat my way across the capital.  There’s a lot of eating to be done and I’ve appointed myself as the man to do it.  I know, it’s a tough job. I best get on with it.

This blog post leaves behind the delights of street food and offers up four luxury dining rooms.  They made an impression on me, I hope they have the same effect on you too.

1911 Restaurant at The Imperial

It’s Sunday.  I’m up late.  I’m feeling lazy. Brunch at the Imperial not only offers me the taste from home and other wonderful world cuisines, it does so in one of the finest restaurant setting I’ve ever set foot in.

A throw back to the days of the Raj, the 1911 Restaurant tells the story of Delhi’s rise to power and its emergence of India’s capital.  It’s like a mini museum that conveniently serves scrumptious food.

Let me tell you a short story. I woke with a craving for Eggs Benedict.  I went to the Imperial.  I ordered Eggs Benedict (and ate a whole lot more other tasty stuff).  I left very happy.  Very happy indeed.  The end.

The Imperial’s website will wow you.  The food won’t disappoint either.

Blue Ginger at Taj Palace

I’m a big fan of ginger.  In food.  In tea.  I love it.  So, a restaurant with the word ginger in its name was always going to have a good chance of getting onto my list.

Once again, I’m going off piste and leaving Indian cuisine behind.  The Blue Ginger at the Taj Palace, Sandar Patel Marg, is India’s first and best Vietnamese restaurant.  It’s an award winner with a really tough menu.  So many different dishes that sound so good, it’s very difficult to decide what to order.

Everything about the place, including the food, is luxurious.  That’s why it makes it onto my list.  Take a closer look by clicking here and download the menu to prepare yourself.

You’ll be tempted.  I guarantee.

Hotel Dharampura

The new kid on the block, Dharampura, opened up in 2016.

It’s going straight into every new Delhi guide book.  Why?  It’s something really quite special.  The food is good, but the building it’s served in that’s almost beyond words

Dating back to 1887, the Dharampura Haveli, in the heart of Old Delhi, has been loving restored by Vijay and Siddhant Goel.  They’ve shown what’s possible and given me a glimpse of what Old Delhi used to look.  They story of Dharampura’s inspiring renovation is well worth a read.

Veg and Non Veg set menu’s offer up a bright and dazzling display of street foods with a selection of mains and desert to round things off.  I think that I munched my way through about 8 different courses.  Diners can choose a table on the ground floor or head up to the rooftop.

Make the time to take a tour around the haveli and head on up to the rooftop for views over the Jama Masjid and Old City.  There’s music and dance performances at the weekend too, so enquire when booking to make sure you don’t miss out.

Bukhara at the ITC Maurya

I’ve saved the best until last. Bukhara takes my top spot.  This award winning restaurant has been feeding Dilliwalahs food from the North Western Frontier since 1978.

The kitchen’s busy chefs can be seen cooking in clay ovens, whilst helpful, hospitable staff bring food to the table and encourage diners to eat with their hands.   Indian and international politicians, pop, film and sports stars, and other cultural icons, have all been here.  You’ll be eating in good company.

The Murgh Malai Kebab (creamy chicken with green chilly and coriander), Tandoori Phool (cauliflower seasoned with yellow chilli and spices) and Tandoori Shimla Mirch (Capsicum / Peppers stuffed with beans, vegetables, cashews and sultanas) get my vote.

I must also make space to mention the famed Dal Bukhara. Cooked for 18 hours and said to be the best in the business.  Since opening in 1978 Bukhara reckon they’ve served 2.5 million dishes of this rich creamy dal.  If you’re hungry, there’s also Bukhara’s mammoth family naan which has a diameter of about 4 feet (I haven’t measure it, but I can confirm that it’s big).

There’s a number of restaurants at the ITC Maurya, but the only reason to go to them is if Bukhara is booked up.  Make a reservation to make sure you avoid disappointment.

 

2 thoughts on “Delhi’s luxurious dining rooms

  1. Pingback: Five fab eatery’s in and around CP | Namaste New Delhi

  2. Pingback: Fine dining and street food | Namaste New Delhi

Leave a Reply

